Djibouti - March 2020

Latest News

We regret to have to cancel our expedition to Djibouti. When planning, there were too many uncertainty factors for us in the negotiations with the licensing authority, the national security authority and customs. We are now looking for an alternative DXpedtion target.


Our next DXpedition was actually planned to take place from Djibouti between March 4th and 16th, 2020, which is now cancelled. Sorry.




Our experienced crew was lanned to include:

About Djibouti

Country name: Republic of Djibouti
National capital: Djibouti
Location: Eastern Africa, bordering the Gulf of Aden and the Red Sea, between Eritrea and Somalia.
Area: total: 23,200 sq km
land: 23,180 sq km
water: 20 sq km
Land boundaries: total: 528 km
Coastline: 314 km
Climate: desert; torrid, dry
Terrain: coastal plain and plateau separated by central mountains
Natural resources: potential geothermal power, gold, clay, granite, limestone, marble, salt, diatomite, gypsum, pumice, petroleum
Population: 884,017 (July 2018 est.)
Ethnic groups: Somali 60%, Afar 35%, other 5% (mostly Yemeni Arab, also French, Ethiopian, and Italian)
Religions: Sunni Muslim 94% (nearly all Djiboutians), Christian 6% (mainly foreign-born residents)
Languages: French (official), Arabic (official), Somali, Afar
Independence: 27 June 1977 (from France)

Djibouti is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden at the east. In antiquity, the territory together with Somalia was part of the Land of Punt. Nearby Zeila, now in Somalia, was the seat of the medieval Adal and Ifat Sultanates. In the late 19th century, the colony of French Somaliland was established following treaties signed by the ruling Somali and Afar sultans with the French and its railroad to Dire Dawa (and later Addis Ababa) allowed it to quickly supersede Zeila as the port for southern Ethiopia and the Ogaden. It was subsequently renamed to the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas in 1967. A decade later, the Djiboutian people voted for independence. This officially marked the establishment of the Republic of Djibouti, named after its capital city. Djibouti joined the United Nations the same year, on 20 September 1977.

Reference: CIA - The World Factbook -- Djibouti